2020 London Assembly Team

Alongside the Mayoral election in 2020, Londoners will also be electing 25 members of the London Assembly, whose job it is to scrutinise the Mayor and bodies like Transport for London, the Metropolitan Police and the London Legacy Development Corporation, which is responsible for delivering projects in the Olympic Park.


Our candidates are led by Caroline Pidgeon.

Caroline has served as a Liberal Democrat member of the Assembly since 2008. Caroline was previously a Southwark borough councillor. She is Chair of the London Assembly Transport Committee and also sits on the committees which oversee London's police services and the Mayor's budget. She is also Lib Dem spokesperson for London.


The eleven candidates for the Londonwide list are:
  1. Caroline Pidgeon AM - @CarolinePidgeon - our sitting Assembly Member
  2. Hina Bokhari - @bc_hina - Teacher and Merton Councillor
  3. Rob Blackie - @robblackie - Digital technology consultant
  4. Chris Maines - @MainesChris - Accountant and former co-leader of Bromley Borough Council
  5. Joyce Onstad - @JoyceOnstad - Urban development planner
  6. Irina von Wiese - @IrinavonWiese - International lawyer and recently-elected MEP
  7. Ben Mathis - @binny_uk - Hackney campaigner and small-business owner
  8. Hussain Khan - @hussain_khanLD - Lawyer specialising in conflict resolution
  9. Michael Bukola - @MichaelBukola - Trade Union activist and former Southwark Councillor
  10. Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett - @Juvelad - LGBT and HIV campaigner
  11. Ade Fatukasi - @AdeFatukasi - Technology consultant based in Lewisham

North East London constituency

There are also 14 constituency members of the Assembly, elected by first-past-the-post.


Hackney is part of the North East London constituency along with Islington and Waltham Forest. Our candidate for North East is Ben Mathis, a key member of Team Hackney who lives in Clapton.

Across the three boroughs in the constituency, we scored a strong second in the European elections with 25% - behind Labour on 32%.

Ben has previously been our local party Chair and stood in Hackney South & Shoreditch at the 2015 General Election.

You can follow Ben on Facebook.

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.