MPs and Lords

Liberal Democrat MPs represent constituencies across Great Britain -  the Lib Dems do not fight elections in Northern Ireland. Our MPs also provide the public face of the party and lead campaigns in the media and around the country. They also have duties in parliament to hold the government to account by asking questions and voting on legislation and by sitting on various committees.

There are currently 16 Liberal Democrat MPs in the House of Commons.

lucianasquare.jpgLuciana Berger

MP for Liverpool Wavertree - since 2010, joined the Liberal Democrats in September 2019

Former Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Shadow Public Health Minister.

Left Labour in response to antisemitism in the party.

Twitter: @LucianaBerger

Profile: Click Here

square_tom_brake.jpgTom Brake

MP for Carshalton & Wallington - since 1997

Liberal Democrat spokesman on Brexit and International Trade. 

Former Hackney councillor for De Beauvoir ward.

Twitter: @ThomasBrake

Profile: Click Here

Vince Cablesquare_vince_cable.jpg

MP for Twickenham - 1997-2015 and since 2017

Former Business Minister and chief economist at Shell.

Party Leader 2017-2019

Twitter: @VinceCable

Profile: Click Here

square_alistair_carmichael.jpgAlistair Carmichael

MP for Orkney & Shetland - since 2001

Lib Dem Chief Whip

Spokesperson for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs and for Northern Ireland

Twitter: @ACarmichaelMP

Profile: Click Here

square_ed_davey.jpegEd Davey

MP for Kingston & Surbiton - 1997-2015 and since 2017

Liberal Democrat Home Affairs spokesperson

Former Energy and Climate Change Minister.

Twitter: @EdwardJDavey

Profile: Click Here


Jane Dodds

MP for Brecon & Radnorshire - since August 2019

Trained Social Worker

Leader of the Welsh Liberal Democrats.

Twitter: @DoddsJane

Profile: Click Here

square_tim_farron.jpgTim Farron

MP for Westmoreland & Lonsdale - since 2005

Liberal Democrat spokesperson on Communities, Local Government and the North of England

Party Leader 2015-2017 and Party President 2011-2015

Twitter: @TimFarron

Profile: Click Here

square_wera_hobhouse.jpgWera Hobhouse

MP for Bath - since 2017

Liberal Democrat spokesperson on Climate Change and Justice.

Former language teacher and local councillor, originally from Hanover.

Twitter: @Wera_Hobhouse

Profile: Click Here

square_christine_jardine.PNGChristine Jardine

MP for Edinburgh West - since 2017

Spokesperson for Work and Pensions and on Culture, Media and Sport.

Former journalist, broadcaster and Downing Street media advisor.

Twitter: @CAJardineMP

Profile: Click Here

square_norman_lamb.jpgNorman Lamb

MP for North Norfolk - since 2001

Lib Dem Shadow Health Secretary.

Former junior minister at the Department of Health specialising on mental health.

Twitter: @NormanLamb

Profile: Click Here

phillipleesq.jpgPhillip Lee

MP for Bracknell - since 2010, joined the Liberal Democrats in September 2019

Medical doctor and part-time GP.

Chair of the Right to Vote group which campaigns for a People's Vote on Brexit.

Twitter: @DrPhillipLeeMP

Profile: Click Here


Layla Moran

MP for Oxford West & Abingdon - since 2017

Former Physics teacher and now Education spokesperson.

Layla is the first British MP of Palestinian origin.

Twitter: @LaylaMoran

Profile: Click Here

square_jamie_stone.jpgJamie Stone

MP for Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross - since 2017

Spokesperson for Scotland and Defence.

Highland councillor first elected in 1986, Member of the Scottish Parliament from 1999-2011.

Twitter: @Jamie4North

Profile: Click Here

square_jo_swinson.jpgJo Swinson

MP for East Dunbartonshire - 2005-2015 and since 2017

Leader of the Liberal Democrats

Longtime campaigner on equality issues and Minister for Women and Equalities from 2012-2015.

Twitter: @JoSwinson

Profile: Click Here

chuka-sq.jpgChuka Umunna

MP for Streatham - since 2010, joined the Liberal Democrats in June 2019

Former Shadow Business Secretary

Founder member of The Independent Group

Twitter: @ChukaUmunna

Profile: Click Here

sarahwollastonsquare.jpgSarah Wollaston

MP for Totnes - since 2010, joined the Liberal Democrats in August 2019

Former GP and Police medical examiner.

Switched support during the 2016 referendum due to lies by the Leave campaign.

Twitter: @sarahwollaston

Profile: Click Here

Lib Dem Lords

square_floella.jpgThere are 95 Liberal Democrat members of the Lords. Most are life peers, appointed on the advice of party leaders, although there are one or two Lib Dems amongst the 92 remaining hereditary peers.

Peers in the Lib Dem Lords group include former councillors and parliamentarians; people with careers in science, business and charity as well as a former children's TV personality, Britain's most senior openly-gay police officer and the man behind Domino's Pizza!

You can follow the group on Twitter: @LibDemLords

The party publishes full profiles of all current Lib Dems in the Lords Here.